Friday Five: they say it’s your birthday!

Friday fun from RevGalBlogPals…

1) Are you a cake or pie person? What type do you savor on your big day?

If someone is making me a cake I usually ask for a Boston cream pie.  Most of the time nowadays I don’t have one at all.  I dropped some very broad hints at Mike for awhile, but they sailed right over his head.  Last year my birthday was the day I was scheduled to cook for our summer lunch program, so I went up to the grocery store and ordered a decorated cake, and shared it with the kids.  If I want a birthday cake, apparently, I have to get it for myself.

2) Growing up, did you have a favorite “birthday meal?” How about now?

We always got to pick what we had for birthday dinner, even down to the cake.  I didn’t always pick the same thing.  One year I asked for steak and spaghetti.  A lot of years I wanted Swedish chicken breasts, which involve bacon and sour cream.

3) What birthday traditions or rituals from younger days have followed you into adulthood?

I don’t really know of any.  My family all live far enough away that we don’t get together for birthday dinners very often.  When we do, one of our rituals is that when the cake comes out and everybody sings the birthday song, we try to sing as off-key as possible.  We’ve also always passed the cards around the table so everyone can read each one, and usually we go for the funny rather than sentimental cards.

(Interesting story… My great-grandma Whitaker was blind, and I understood what that meant, apparently, very young.  At birthday dinners I would oftentimes sit beside her; and my parents discovered that I knew how to read because I was reading the cards to Grandma Whitaker as they were passed around the table.  I was not quite three.)

4) What’s the most memorable gift or celebration you ever received for your birthday?

Well, one year I had to do a funeral on my birthday.  That was memorable, but maybe not in a good way.

My 18th birthday I was in Ireland.  The group I was traveling with had lined up a bus trip for that day to some historical sites, leaving out of Dublin.  But another member of the group forgot her camera and I stayed behind with her to retrieve it, intending to catch the next train to Dublin and meet the rest of the group there before the bus left.  But the train was delayed, so we didn’t get to Dublin until well after the bus was to leave.  We didn’t even look for them–and later we found out that the whole group waited for us, and were sitting on the bus trying to get our attention so we could join them.  We never saw them, so we spent the day drifting around the Dublin city center, and then went home.

5) How do you like to celebrate others on their day?

I like to cook for them, if I can.  At the church if someone has their birthday on Sunday we always sing to them.  (That includes me, although I have occasionally threatened to take my vacation that Sunday so they can’t sing.  It’s not entirely sporting since I always sing to them.)

One thought on “Friday Five: they say it’s your birthday!”

Leave a Reply

