Friday Five: Fast and Furious Cuisine

Response to RevGalBlogPals post:  http://revgalblogpals.org/2015/06/26/friday-five-fast-and-furious-cuisine/

1) What’s your tried-and-true recipe for picky eaters?

Picky eaters are not my forte; there aren’t any living in my house.  The youth group kids who are picky eat at home before they come out for our weekly gatherings.  My sister was a picky eater growing up, though, and one thing my mom could always get her to eat was baked chicken breasts coated with crushed cheese crackers.

2) Breakfast for dinner: totally cheating or a lifesaver? Discuss.

It’s fine, if that’s what you want.  The youth group kids love it when they show up and I’m cooking pancakes.  I don’t do it at home very often, mostly because I often cook a big brunch on Sundays after church.

3) Go-to casserole for potlucks, new parents or your family’s favorite?

Lasagna Casserole, also known as “Heavenly Hamburger.”  One of my aunts got it from a women’s magazine ages ago.  It consists of some kind of wide pasta (mini lasagna noodles, or bowties, or something like that), topped (in this order) with 1) meat sauce; 2) a mixture of sour cream, cream cheese, and green onions; and 3) shredded mozzarella or Italian blend cheese.  You can freeze it right there, or bake it.  I love it, my church folks love it, the youth group kids love it, and it’s the easiest thing in the world to make.

Another one I like, and the youth group kids like, is one that’s inelegantly known as “two-cup dump.”  Two cups cooked chicken, two cups uncooked macaroni, two cups chicken broth, two cans cream of whatever-you-like soup, two cups shredded cheese, and half a cup of onion if you want it.  The whole thing goes into a 9×13 pan, which is then covered with foil and baked for an hour and a half in a 350-degree oven.

4) Favorite take-out place, preferably with a drive-through? (Let’s be real!)

Taco Bell.  When we lived in Oregon we had three of them within a one-mile radius of our house.  Here the nearest one is 45 miles away, and that’s probably a saving grace for us, since we really don’t need to be eating that kind of stuff as often as we did when it was handy.

5) ‘Fess up! What’s your “bad-for-me-but-super-easy” dinner?

Frozen pizza.  I prefer a DiGiorno Rising Crust, supreme, and I usually add some cheese and occasionally pineapples to it.  That’s become our traditional Christmas eve supper; only this last year I got one that didn’t have any sauce on it.  That was a bit of a disaster.  (I wrote a letter to them, and they sent me back a coupon for a free one.)

BONUS: RANDOM!! REVGALS version of “CHOPPED” episode, starring you, the tired, harried, cook and pastor who has to feed everyone and get back to church for a meeting in 45 minutes… What would you make with:
a can of garbanzo beans
chicken breasts
radicchio
sweet bell peppers and
some “Testa-mints”?

I’ve never watched “Chopped,” so I don’t know if you are required to use everything on the list or not.  I believe I would make some hummus to dip the peppers in; then saute the chicken in olive oil with garlic and herbs (my front yard is almost entirely taken over by oregano at this point) and serve it sliced, atop a salad made with the radicchio and whatever other kinds of greens I have in the refrigerator (currently I have fresh spinach and lots of romaine lettuce), dressed with olive oil and lemon juice and maybe some feta cheese if I have any.

I’d take the Testa-mints to the meeting, put them in a bowl, and pass them around the table.

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: Fast and Furious Cuisine”

Leave a Reply

