Friday Five…

from http://revgalblogpals.org/2015/11/20/friday-five-8/

1. Music: a song or orchestral piece that stirs your soul

I like the good old marches.  Like this one…    (When I was a kid the local radio station had Bob McBride doing the “Farm Route” at 11:oo every weekday morning, and the intro to “King Cotton” was the lead-in music.  Later I played in the city band and every week we had to learn two or three Sousa or Karl King marches.  Now I live an hour from Karl King’s hometown!)

Or this one, more commonly known as the “Monty Python” theme…    (The flute/piccolo part is way harder than it sounds on this one.)

2.  Indoor Place: have you got an oasis at home that you can hide away in?

My bedroom is the best place, really…  It’s not always this neat, but it’s always comfortable.  It’s far enough away from the television that I can’t hear it, so it’s almost always quiet.  And I still don’t have any curtains, so it’s always bright and airy.

3. Outdoor Space: is it water, hills, woodland? Is it the fresh country air or the bustling city?

I like a lake.  Not too big, semi-private, quiet.  When I was a kid we had a cabin at Havana Lake in Kansas.  (This is actually our second cabin, and the subsequent owners seem to have taken out the sliding glass door that used to be in the bedroom, on the right.  There also used to be a door under the a-frame.)  In college I liked to go to Santa Fe Lake, east of Wichita and near Augusta, Kansas, now and then.

4.  Picture: this may be a piece of art, something you created, something someone gave you…

I like Vincent van Gogh.  Always have, ever since my uncle Bob gave me a book about him (in the “Art for Children” series) when I was very little.  Vincent’s Bedroom in Arles is my favorite painting of his.

5.  Person: do you have a go to person, for when the world is crowding in?

When I really need to get far away I go down to my parents’ acreage.  I thought I had a nicer picture than this, one from early spring that shows the daffodils that line that entire lane up to the house, but I couldn’t find it.  (This is not the house where I grew up; my folks sold that house and lived at the lake a few years before moving back to the edge of my hometown and buying this place.)  It’s about a day’s drive from here.

Leave a Reply

