Friday Five: Throwback Tunes

This week’s offering from RevGalBlogPals is right up my alley…

Which musical artist from your teen years would you love to see in concert?

I’ve actually seen quite a few…finally.  Saw Springsteen for the first time in 2000, a decade and a half after Born in the U.S.A. was released.  Saw Tom Petty a couple years before that.  I’d have loved to have seen U2, but they never came anywhere near where I lived, and if they did, I couldn’t get tickets.  Now I don’t know if it’d be worth it.  I hear Hall & Oates are going back out on tour.  Saw them twice in high school, and probably wouldn’t turn down another chance.

Which album was your favorite during high school?

Too many to list, really.  There was R.E.M.’s Reckoning, anything that U2 put out, The Principle of Moments from Robert Plant (with Phil Collins on drums), Haircut One Hundred’s Pelican West (they were a “one hit wonder,” but the whole album is really good), Rush’s Signals, Dire Straits’ Brothers in Arms, Voices, Private Eyes, and H2O by Daryl Hall & John Oates, the aforementioned Born in the U.S.A., and last but definitely not least, The Crossing by Big Country.  I was also dipping pretty heavily into stuff I was actually too young for, like pre-Escape Journey, and the entire Led Zeppelin catalog.  It’s hard to pin down just one favorite.

If you could create a festival (like Woodstock, Lilith Fair or Lollapalooza) of your favorite bands from high school or college, which bands would you choose?

All of the above, plus Prince, who I always liked…but I had an image to maintain, so I didn’t own any albums by him and wouldn’t dream of being seen at his concert.  I’m sorry I set my image so high in my priority list.  Oh, and The Firm.  I’d put them on the bill, too.  And probably Elvis Costello, although I didn’t properly appreciate him until college.  I was probably in seventh grade or thereabouts when my cousin David dragged all of us–grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, anybody he could get–up to his room to listen to this new album he’d just gotten and was all excited about:  Get Happy!!  At the time I just thought it was noise, but he grew on me over the years.

What was the best concert you’ve attended in your life?

I’ve seen Springsteen three times now, but even he can’t hold a candle to Luciano Pavarotti, at the Portland Coliseum, on New Year’s Eve 1994.

What song from your childhood, teen years or adulthood means more to you now (because of lyrics or the power of memory)?

I’d have to say the entire Joshua Tree album from U2.  It was brand new when my entire family took a road trip out to the Oregon coast–three vehicles, twelve people, three days on the road.  In our house, anybody with a license took a turn driving, and the driver got to choose the music.  And if I wasn’t driving, I had my Walkman on.  Then we got to the beach house, and I would fall asleep with U2 in my headphones, not loud enough to drown out the sound of the ocean.  (I should post my account of that trip one of these days.)

Leave a Reply

